Mio goes Mexican

January 24, 2007

I’m having a lot of fun feeding Mio solids. I’m certainly not holier than thou, so I feed him from jars about half the time, if not more. But I also make fresh babyfood. Mashed pear and mango are big hits, of course. More surprisingly, so is homemade rice gloop (let rice cook for a really long time until it’s all soft and thick, than give it the once-over with the blender). But my favorite so far is baby guacamole. Mio is in the low percentiles for weight, so feeding him avocado was quite appealing to me (for those who don’t know, avocado is very rich, lots of fat). Not so appealing to him, though. Until I mixed it with some formula, thickened it with rice cereal and added a spoonful or two of apple sauce. Et voila: baby guacamole!

Leave a Reply

